A  A  A

Friends of Sachem Public Library

Friends of the Sachem Public Library

Friends of Sachem Public Library is an enthusiastic and dedicated group of volunteers committed to supporting Sachem Public Library. For over 30 years, the Friends has provided funding to the Library through sales of books and assorted donated items.

The Friends has made many major contributions to the Library and has enriched and expanded its services. Sponsoring of programs and events benefits the entire community.

Friends' Gifts To The Library include:

  • Support of Museum Adventure Program
  • Inside/Out garden benches
  • Construction of brick entrance walkway

Many years ago, the Friends began a scholarship program granting two $500 gifts to graduating seniors within the Sachem school district. This successful program continues each spring and winners are announced and publicized in the Sachem Library Newsletter along with having their names inscribed in a wooden plaque displayed in Teen Services. Click here for a printable Friend's scholarship application.

Our organization celebrates its 30th anniversary this year, 2016 and 2017. We are all very proud of our accomplishments and look forward to continuing our volunteer activities and funding of extras for the Sachem Public Library well on into the future.

New Members are heartily welcomed to our monthly meetings, they are open to the Public and all Patrons are encouraged to participate in the exchange of ideas and voice their comments and opinions. Discussions are lively and informative. Our energetic and dedicated members who conduct our book sales are hardworking individuals and contribute much to the camaraderie of the group. Why not make new friends or renew old acquaintances by attending one of our meetings. Make our 30th Anniversary the time for you to join our group! Meetings are held the second Thursday of the month. Refreshments are served.

Membership applications may be obtained online or at the Library Welcome Desk.
Click here for a printable Friend's Membership Application.

The officers for 2017/2018 are:

President:
Helene Stimatz
Vice President:
Peter Schramel
Secretary:
Sharon Eckhaus
Treasurer:
Robin Miller
Membership:
June Zinsley

Friends' Meetings and Book Sales 2017/2018

Thursday, September 14 10:30 a.m. Room A Meeting
Saturday, September 16 9:30 a.m. to 11 a.m. Outside Fall Festival
Saturday, September 16 11 a.m. to 4 p.m. Outside Fall Festival
Thursday, October 12 10:30 a.m. Room A Meeting
Friday, October 20 3 p.m. to 5 p.m. Room C Book Sale (Set-up - Active members)
Saturday, October 21 10 a.m. to 11 a.m. Room C Book Sale (Friends Members only)
Saturday, October 21 11 a.m. to 4 p.m. Room C Book Sale (Open to All)
Sunday, October 22 Noon to 3 p.m. Room C Book Sale (Open to All)
Thursday, November 19 10:30 a.m. Room A Meeting
December     No Meeting
Saturday, December 16 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Lobby Friends Book Sale
Sunday, December 17 Noon to 3 p.m. Lobby Friends Book Sale
2018:
Thursday, January 11 10:30 a.m. Room A Meeting
Thursday, February 8 10:30 a.m. Room A Meeting
Saturday, February 17 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Lobby Friends Book Sale
Sunday, February 18 Noon to 3 p.m. Lobby Friends Book Sale
Thursday, March 8 10:30 a.m. Room A Meeting
Saturday, March 17 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Lobby Friends Book Sale
Sunday, March 18 Noon to 3 p.m. Lobby Friends Book Sale
Thursday, April 12 10:30 a.m. Room A Meeting
Friday, April 20 3 p.m. to 5 p.m. Room C Book Sale (Set-up- Active members)
Saturday, April 21 10 a.m. to 11 a.m. Room C Book Sale (Friends Members only)
Saturday, April 21 11 a.m. to 4 p.m. Room C Book Sale (Open to All)
Sunday, April 22 Noon to 3 p.m. Room C Book Sale (Open to All)
Thursday, May 10 10:30 a.m. Room A Meeting
Thursday, June 14 10:30 a.m. Room A Meeting
Friday, June 15 Noon to 3 p.m. Rooms A & B Luncheon